Manage Members

Learn how to add and manage users in LogDNA.

Adding users to your LogDNA Organization allows you to share access to logs, views, alerts, and other LogDNA resources with other members of your team. This page will show you how to manage users as a LogDNA administrator, including how to add new users, assign permissions, and set global sign-in policies.

Overview

Each LogDNA Organization allows for a certain number of users. This number is determined by your LogDNA plan. Users who join your LogDNA Organization are called Members, and the collective group of members in your Organization is called a Team.

As an Organization administrator, you can:

  • Add and remove Organization members
  • Assign roles and privileges to members
  • Limit each member’s access to LogDNA resources
  • Determine how (or if) LogDNA users can discover and join your Organization
  • Toggle different methods of signing into your Organization

To access the team management settings, sign into the LogDNA web app and click Settings > Team.

Managing Members

The Members screen lists each member of your LogDNA Organization along with their email address, the groups that they belong to, and their role. On the left-hand side of the page, underneath the navigation menu, you can see the number of members in your Organization out of the total number available according to your plan.

Adding a Member

When you add a member, LogDNA sends an email invitation to the address provided prompting the user to either create a LogDNA account or sign in using SSO.

To add a member:

  1. Click the Add Member button.
  2. Enter the email address of the person who you want to add.
  3. Select the Role that the member will be assigned to.
  4. Select the Group(s) that the member will be assigned to. Members with no assigned groups will have access to all logs.
  5. Click Add Member to send an email invitation to the member.

Editing a Member

You can modify each member’s groups and roles at any time, including while they have an outstanding invitation. Note that you can’t change a member’s email address after their account has been created.

  • To edit the member’s groups, click the pencil icon in the Groups column. This opens a modal window where you can select the groups that the member will be assigned to. Click Save to apply your changes.
  • To edit the member’s role, select the desired role from the drop-down in the Role column. LogDNA will prompt you to confirm your changes. Click Continue to confirm and apply the new role.

Removing a Member

To remove a member from your Organization, click the gray “X” next to the member’s role. This won’t delete the user’s account, but will revoke their membership to your Organization. Click Remove to confirm.

Managing Join Requests

If your Organization is discoverable, users who are not currently members of your Organization can request to join it. When this happens, you (or the email addresses configured to receive join request notifications) will receive an email with links to either approve or deny the request. You can also use the “Join Requests” screen to review outstanding requests, as shown in this screenshot:

Click Accept to add the user to your Organization, or click Reject to deny the request. LogDNA will email the requester with the updated status of their request.

Managing Groups

Groups let you determine which logs users have access to by way of a search query. For example, you could create a group that only shows logs originating from Node.js applications, then assign your company’s Node.js developers to that group. When those users sign into LogDNA, the only logs they will see are Node.js logs. This affects all logs including those that appear in the event feed, when creating alerts, and when displaying graphs.

To navigate to the group screen, click Settings > Team > Groups.

Creating a Group

  1. Click Add Group.
  2. Enter a name for the group in the Group Name box.
  3. Select the Members who you want to add to this group. When a user is added to a group, their log visibility is immediately restricted to the scope of the group.
  4. Click Add query to enter the search query that will specify which logs the group members will have access to. You can test your query by clicking Preview, or clear it by clicking the X. Leaving this box blank will prevent the group members from seeing any logs.

Editing a Group

  1. Scroll to the group that you want to edit and click Edit.
  2. Modify any of the fields as described in Creating a Group.
  3. Click Save to apply your changes.

Deleting a Group

  1. Scroll to the group that you want to delete and click Delete.
  2. Confirm the deletion by clicking Delete again .

Managing Team Settings

Team settings let you set policies affecting all members of your team. This includes how users sign into your team, the default level of access that new members have, and whether new users can discover and join your team without having to request an invite.

To view your team settings, navigate to Settings > Team > Settings.

Access Control

By default, members who are not assigned to any groups can see all logs. If this is set to “off”, then these members cannot see any logs until they are assigned to a group. This only applies to users who are in the “Members” role and are not assigned to any groups.

Discoverability

Discoverability determines whether LogDNA users who are not members your Organization can find and join (or request to join) your Organization. Only users who signed up with an email address belonging to your domain(s) will be able to discover your Organization.

Note: Your domain is determined by the email address you used when creating your LogDNA account. If you would like to add additional domains, please contact LogDNA support.

Discover

Toggling the Discover setting allows LogDNA users to discover your Organization through the LogDNA web app. If the user signs up with an email address belonging to your domain, your Organization will appear listed when they click “Join/Leave Domain.”

This setting is enabled by default.

Join

Toggling the Join setting allows LogDNA users to join your Organization without having to send a request. If this option is disabled, join requests will be sent to the email address(es) listed in the “Send join request notifications to” text box. This text box is hidden when this option is enabled.

Sign-in Policy

Sign-in policy determines which authentication methods members are allowed to use when signing into your Organization. All of these options are enabled by default.

  • Local Sign-in allows members to sign-in using accounts created on LogDNA.
  • Google Sign-in allows members with an email address belonging to your domain to sign-in via their Google account.
  • Other OAuth Sign-in allows members to sign-in via OAuth from OAuth providers such as GitHub and Heroku.

To learn more about the different sign-in methods, read our SSO documentation.

Updated about a year ago

Manage Members


Learn how to add and manage users in LogDNA.

Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.